Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Tintype Oskar

Still smokey but we needed milk and bananas so DROVE the car (it’s a 5 minute walk) to the neighborhood store.   Had a N95  mask, but still our eyes were burning.   The AQ is higher now than then.. (247….but Portland is maybe 400!!!)   supposed to rain in next 24 hours and clear it up.   Let’s hope so for the whole west coast. 
extra:  view from the roof deck at 6:30PM

So …an indoor day!  I made soup and we had French toast for lunch.   Then I had to rest :-)… but still plenty of time left.   Determined to little by little clean up my studio, the goal was to get all the extra stuff off the floor today.  And I was delighted to find, buried in a box, the book I’ve been looking for that Fiona and I made years ago with her made up stories of people in old fashion studio portraits.    A blip for later.   Maybe tuesday.   I was also delighted to find these little tintypes, ..about 2x3 inches, and the tiny photo of my grandfather Oskar who became Oscar when he came to America from Sweden in 1891.  The one on the right is with his brother Nels, whose 91 year old granddaughter is holed up in her house in Los Altos, Ca, sending me photos of their orange skies.    You might notice that Oskar’s mother was “Aquilina”…my mother’s middle name that I love.  (and named a boat after)   We have this Swedish family tree back til 1696   I love that our Oskar has this original spelling.
Added 2nd extra with our Oskar

It’s not that I threw too much away but at least it’s consolidated and in fewer boxes.  And the floor is clear! (almost!)


Time to warm up the soup!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.