Aquamarine/Nanna K's Day

By NannaK

Ducks

 It’s been 5 weeks since we were allowed to come to Canada.….  When we left in March 2020 we thot we’d be back in a few weeks…. Ha… so this time we are packing up assuming we might not be back soon…I wouldn’t put it past Canada to close the border again.  they are having as much trouble with antivaxxers as the US.

Saw these ducks on our walk this morning ..rubbish far away photo but they are the first ducks I’ve seen..I think hooded mergansers… so want to record.   This photo just might tweak me into looking for a better lens…
Think I”m going to post this early as I’m packing up the computer .. Ferry late afternoon and then we stay at a motel in Tsawwassen so we don’t have to drive home in the dark.  Our new schedule.  Home to Seattle in the morning.   I”m ready.  If we see something spectacular I”ll change the photo.  Extra.. from the same place I saw the ducks..looking across our bay....these 2 sailboats live here year around..... for free....

 I’ve been jotting down my observations about these 5 weeks at the island….while I”m still here.    NO need to read them unless you are interested but I thought I’d record them for me. (and family) ..might add more later.   



Random thoughts about our 5 weeks on the island:

A lot of hassle to get across the border, finally.  Incl covid test within 72 hrs
Looking at A lot of work 
Sooo happy to be near the sea and the forest!!
Mostly excellent weather, if a little cold. 
Weather always makes me anxious here… in case we need to go out in the boat. 
The mouse house was daunting.  Huge infestation. 
              Could not find anyone willing to help clean for any amt of $
              Could not have moved ahead without our wonderful builder who sent a guy over to          spend parts of 3 days to  plug all the holes underneath the cabin around the concrete posts.  
               The vacuum was attached to Herbs arm. 
               We did the death cleaning and went thru every shelf, drawer, nook and cranny to disinfect, wash and discard a lot.  27 bags of garbage.   Some treasures going home with us. 

I was determined to be extra cautious just walking around with my new hip on all this uneven ground.  The hip is good…just needs some more muscle strength and it will be better…but my bum heart and old age I think won’t get better.   and I’m freaked about falling….
I really missed being on the water noodling around in my rowing boat.  With camera.  Think I saw less wildlife from the cabin.   This place is about being on the water!
It was at least a change of scenery for blip! 
Happy that almost all our family could be here a little bit and they were a big help.  
They are going to have to make a decision about what to do with it….H and I are too old for all the maintenance.  Kids don’t have the time or the resources and they want to play not work when they come.   No huge hurry, but……
We’ve had a fabulous 31 years creating this place ( Whyte Strand) from scratch… ( there was a well dug ) and I don’t regret a minute…… but I’m pretty much done now.
We’ve  made some good friends from neighbors here…. But an island is predominately a place where people go to get away…   Suited us… altho we were glad to be a destination for friends with boats.   and we had one here for a few years which I lived on while we were building.
I’ll miss my book club up here.
The neighbors are reminding us of all the good times we had rowing boats… the quad and the double. And the Alden.  ( I taught a few to row) and how fun to have our Seattle rowing club here too. 
We have decided we will no longer have the stress of making a ferry at an early hour ( we always forget something) so now will stay in Tsawwassen on the mainland the night before or the night we leave.   Gotta be flexible. 
Do love the backyard birds here. 
This studio is my all time happy place…. Hardly spent much time there this time…. It will take a week to clean it up next time.
I hate the main shower which seems to be a trickle now.   Always loved the outdoor shower but we didn’t fix it up to work this time.   Also didn’t wash any more windows, trying to be careful about the water supply.  H did wash all decks ( and coat with preserver)  , steps, wharf and dock.  All himself…. Much work. 
Did a wash  a day cleaning everything in drawers.   Water supply seems fine. Lucky.  there is NO water in our little pond.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.