Sun + outside = happiness

Warmish clothes and layers first thing soon gave way to a thin top and shorts. Why do I so enjoy sitting in the soil weeding? It doesn't even have to be sunny, though sun like today's is a huge bonus. I'm thrilled that after being alarmed when I first came here by the lack of birds in this garden, I spent most of today accompanied by a robin and a blackbird. Perhaps they were just waiting for someone to move the soil and reveal the centipedes. There are also several thick worms per forkful - a huge improvement - but I hide them again quickly before the birds can see them.

This evening I went to an AGM - from garden to meeting in two minutes. As I sat in my little Zoom-box no one could see the holes in my work-top nor my filthy knees nor the soil under my fingernails. The meeting was also much shorter than most AGMs. That's a lot of pluses to set against the downside of not being able to chat to people afterwards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.