Bug artwork

This is a calligrapha beetle - the second of the year- fascinating after never having seen one before! They are rather inoffensive apparently, as beetles go. They also apparently like water because the first one I found was one I rescued from the swimming pool. Today's was rescued from the ant trap on top of  the hummer feeder as  I was taking it down for the year. At first I thought it was dead ,but then it moved a leg. After taking its portrait I put it and its leaf in one of the pots under a plant- it is getting cold tonight and I thought it could use some cover after its traumatic experience.
They apparently common all different colors - this one was gold , the previous one was ivory . Red is even an option. The patterns on the back can be a little different as well. I never thought I would find bugs so fascinating. BLIP- this is all your fault!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.