Emerald

Poorly photographed I know, I should have increased the aperture, but will suffice for Tiny Tuesday topic - "ring &/or earring".
There is a story attached to this ring.....
Doug & I travelled to the UK back in August 1996 (as well as 2016).  Our travel agent suggested, as something different to do whilst in London, to visit the Silver Vaults.  We did !!
These vaults are underground, we really enjoyed wandering around the "rabbit warren" type setup viewing amazing silver, crockery and jewellery.  Mostly from estates and had all been used/worn at some stage.  I took a fancy to this ring, the price much too much....but Doug being a generous chap decided to purchase if for my 50th birthday.  OK I said, expensive but doable.  I left him to do the transaction and wandered on a little, it was then that it dawned on me that it was priced in UK pounds (x 3 to convert to NZ) - I felt horribly sick and rushed back but too late.  Doug didn't seem to be too bothered but I was and the sick in the stomach feeling spoiling my holiday for a while. It is from the Victorian era, I loved the old style setting (and of course the emerald and diamonds).  Rather fragile I only wear it on special occasions. Twenty four years on, and I still love it.

Rainie 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.