MJC

...my Great Aunty, christened Margaret Jane but always known as Jean. Eldest of four sisters none of whom were known by their full names...Ellen was Nellie; Elizabeth was Lizzie (my Nana) and Mary Lillian was Mamie. 

This ring was left to me by my Great Aunty although I didn’t get it until my Nana died. The ring I knew to be my Great Grandmother’s wedding band, the shield being from a signet ring of my Aunty Jean and attached at some point after she inherited the ring. Today I finally got around to looking up the hallmarks which are still very distinctive and found it’s 18ct gold and was assayed in Birmingham in 1851.

My Great Grandfather lost his father when he was four years old and didn’t marry until 1903 after his mother had died. I’m now thinking that the ring may have been his mother’s wedding band originally as she married in 1859. Whatever the story it’s been a ring for a very long time and is something I treasure and do frequently wear.

Thanks to MaryElizaR for hosting Tiny Tuesday this month.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.