Lulu05star

By Lulu05star

Subi's Ace

I had a phone call the other day from someone doing a survey of local residents to find out their opinion of the proposed development for the Ace Cinema site in Subiaco. I've been a bit out of the loop since being down in Margaret River for 2 months and was pleased to be brought up to 'speed' on the latest proposals. I say 'speed' because the person on the other end of the call seemed to be in a race against the clock. I have never known anyone to race through questions so fast. Fortunately for him I could just keep up as I have been trained to listen by my daughter who also speaks fast (but no where near as fast as this chap)...he hardly took a breathe and when he finished he said that if I had any questions I could ring...xxxxxx..there is no way anyone could have heard and remembered that number!!

I was pleased to hear that it will continue to house cinemas as I love being able to walk to and from the movies. Also proposed is an underground carpark (tick...really needed), a food hall (great as this will replace the large one which disappeared as a result of the financial crisis), a hotel (hmmm), a piazza (tick...will be nice to see people milling around enjoying the outdoor space).

The modern style of architecture predominating in the area has lead someone to dub it 'legoland'...an apt name I think. I hope the façade of the Ace Cinema is retained as it is one of a few examples of Art Deco in Perth, it makes a nice contrast to the modern styles, and it is a link to the history of the suburb.




Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.