Molting...

...cardinal, hanging around the house. I think it was waiting for me to refill the bird feeders, which I promptly did. I pulled some weeds today, ran the debris over to the recycling center, then went and got Mae at 2.
We spent a couple of hours at the beach, since we had to cancel yesterday, and the water shoes worked great. I should have just had her wear her swimsuit, as no sooner did I say "you need to be careful as the rocks can be slippery" then down she went, clothes and all--everything but her head. She told me not to worry, as "accidents happen"--made me laugh, as that's what I always tell HER. When she came out of the water she plunked herself down onto the sand to build a castle, so was now covered with it. But we had a lot of fun, and I had the presence of mind to bring a jug of tap water (to wash the sand off of her before she got in the car), a few towels and plastic for her to sit on so my seats didn't get wet. I brought her home with me & we've had a "party" in the basement, we've colored, and she asked for blueberry pancakes for supper, so I've just finished making those. Her mom's going to swing by and pick her up in a bit, & she's protesting because "We didn't even get to read our books yet!"  :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.