Seelye

By Seelye

My Octopus Teacher

It's an extraordinary film on Netflix that I just watched. The underwater photography is very good but the subject is what is so moving. Their lifespan is so short, they are intelligent and it appears they feel friendship. At one point the man narrating and is also the diver, sees her looking for food. He realizes she is not in predator mode and is actually playing with the fish. She abandons the fish, she comes to him and he cradles her on his chest. He has handled her many times but this scene was so touching. I cried. She finally mates and its after the babies start hatching that she times her death. He cried. They even use geometry to figure out where to drill mollusk in their shells so they can get the meat out.

This octopus I bought on the Isle of Capri, Italy in 1993. The octopus in the extra I bought on the beach in Mexico in 2018. Underwater sea life is so fascinating. Once while swimming in the Caribbean I had a little sea horse swim up to me. I was giggling underwater because I only had associated with seeing them in a cartoon! I found it pretty magical.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.