Paused Shielding - Day 48

The River Avon, Saltford Weir


Another crazy day that didn’t go to plan; I shall be glad when this week is over! 

Avert your eyes from what follows unless you have the time for a long, boring story, though it does have a happy ending...

Up early for my car to be collected at 7am (eek!) for its MOT. When I booked the test and collection, I was told the car would be returned by 9am, so I’d planned a day out to make the most of another beautiful day (slightly cooler at 21 degrees). When the mechanic turned up to collect the car he told me he’d bring it back between 1pm and 2pm, so that put an end to my day trip plans, instead I decided we could fit in an afternoon out. At 12pm the garage phoned to say my headlights needed work in order to pass the MOT but they wouldn’t have time to do the job until tomorrow, they would phone in the afternoon and let me know if they would be bringing my car back or leaving it overnight at the garage. So no afternoon outing. I was determined not to waste the day completely though so popped out for an hour, down to the river at Saltford for a stroll in the sunshine and an ice cream by the weir. Came home and waited for the garage to call, but they didn’t. At 5pm the mechanic appeared at my door, with my car, and with an MOT certificate! He’d fixed the lights for me, and refused to take any extra money for doing so, or for collecting and returning the car! Ok, my plans for the day had to be changed, twice, but I can’t complain about the service I received from the garage, I was one happy customer...

Take care, stay safe and well...

(Disappearing internet, taken over two hours to upload this! Catch up when I can...)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.