Astounding, even shocking, that a youth hostel has no paper/card recycling point. I brought mine home. But more on the hostel later.

We checked out, and had voted to spend a couple of hours at the coast before journeying home. Due to my search terms we ended up in St Austell near the harbour, but what a lovely little harbour it is, and we spent a while exploring, even finding some coffee I liked in a cute harbour-side shack.

Then son and partner wanted to explore the local beaches so I sat on the shingle against the wall for a bit... but got itchy feet and set off along the coast path, see extra. I loved the book The Salt Path and so I walked a short section, there and back obviously, with Raynor Winn and her husband in my thoughts. I only had 1.5 hours until we'd arranged to meet for the journey home, but managed to walk 3.5 miles. Exercise done!

The youth hostel within the grounds of the Eden Project is unlike any hostel I've previously stayed in. The rooms are called Snoozeboxes and are converted shipping containers and very nicely done. Apparently the YHA don't own the Snoozeboxes, they only rent them, and this seems to cause difficulties with regard to maintenance issues. The only "building" that belongs to the YHA is in fact a huge marquee housing the reception/kitchen/bar and, in pre-Covid times, the dining and lounge areas. The staff, as always, were lovely but I'm not sure I'd stay there again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.