A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Star of the Day

Late yesterday afternoon while watering asters, cosmos and bee balm in our Butterfly Bed I saw this beautiful monarch caterpillar on one of the milkweed plants! It’s only the second one I’ve seen this summer. I’m a novice at this but I believe this might be a fifth instar? If anyone knows please feel free to educate! It was quite a find so late in the season, especially with the milkweed going by and the nighttime temperatures dropping. Although we have not yet experienced a frost we’ve been covering tomato and pepper plants for a couple of weeks. Anyway, we are very happy to be able to offer this cat free lodging and all you can eat accommodations! • I took this photo this afternoon when the sun finally peeked through and guess what? I found a second cat on a different milkweed! This one is young, only a couple of inches long. What a great way to end a special week! • I’d like to thank you all for the comments, hearts and stars yesterday. You made my blip birthday extra special. I was certainly feeling the love! Fist bumps and elbow bumps to you all. Hugs will have to wait ;)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.