A Day In The Life

By Irish59

Milkweed x 3

I lied yesterday when I said we had two varieties of milkweed. Surprise! Here’s a third variety called Butterfly Weed. I had forgotten about the seeds we bought and planted earlier this summer. The plants are only 6” tall with flower buds on one. I was thrilled to find the tiny buds had opened into these gorgeous orange flowers with a yellow center. It’s already attracting attention :) So, I stand corrected, we have three varieties of milkweed in our ever growing butterfly bed • Happy Saturday, it’s been a quiet one around here. Puttered around outdoors following chipmunks and white cabbage moths around; watered a few plants, filled feeders, scattered and hid nuts, and that’s about it • I think I’m still stunned by the sight of our phlox bed this morning. We’ve been aware of the yellow jacket nest in the middle of the phlox all summer. MrsP and I debated about what to do and decided to wait for cooler weather to address it. Unfortunately, the skunks have now discovered it and have decimated the area over the past two nights. They’ll return tonight too because there’s still activity. It’s very upsetting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.