pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Nether the less

Autumn is coming.

It’s not quite as sexy or as dark as “Winter is coming” is it?

But coming it most definitely is and having now looked up the official date of meteorological Autumn, I see that it is technically already here. So I was right. Late, but right.

You can feel it in the air too. A cooling of the sunny evenings, which still contained a little heat in the tail now leading to a search for a light hoodie.

My children are back with me this weekend and they are a tonic after a tough week at work. The Eldest went with me to collect them from after school club and then the wee ones and I went for a kick about and a play at the park. It’s so nice with them being just that little bit older now, to loosen the reins and - within reason - let them have a little wander off on their own.

It’s also great to see that the boy has been developing his football skills with a few drops of the shoulder and a genuinely hilarious attempt at “giving me the eyes” ie. trying to send the keeper the wrong way!

We walked back along the river, feeling that autumnal (love that word) breeze on our faces. I stopped briefly to snap this one as I was aware for the first time of the backdrop foliage to Nether Bridge starting to thin and change colour.

Soon be time to light the fire! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.