paperTIGER

By papertiger

Whiteout.

Outside, the sky was clear, stars gleaming in its ebony vastness like celestial fireflies. It was bitterly cold, and Hywel's every breath trailed after him in pale puffs of smoke. The glazed snow crackled underfoot as he started towards the great hall.

-- Sharon Kay Penman, Time and Chance


Today it snowed all day.

It's the worst snow we've had so far this winter.

I took this photo just outside my office door ... and managed somehow to lock myself out, so I had to trudge all the way round the building in the bitter cold to get back in.

By this point in the day everyone else had abandoned ship. Normally we run four youth theatre classes on a Wednesday evening but with the bad snow, blocked roads, and cancelled buses, we decided to do a phone round. 80+ phone calls and a radio announcement later, and the day could officially end early.

And then, miracle of miracles, I managed to get parked just outside my flat. However, my car parking is going to look utterly ridiculous in the morning when the snow is gone, but at least I'm not the person whose car is about to be crushed by the top of the building across the road which is hanging on by a thread!

Small mercies!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.