Visiting Mary Quant

Keeping up with Blipfoto entries has been quite difficult this week, but I am getting there, I hope.

Today is a day for getting out and about, but letters from NHS Scotland sound ominous warnings that my "freedom from shielding" could quickly come to an end.

First port of call was a visit to our possibly new bank to hand over documents to prove who we are.

That over we dropped into see DH and show off our new set of wheels. He was impressed and we had a good socially distanced chat in the driveway.

Making our way back the long way round we had lunch at home before heading off to the V&A Dundee to see the Mary Quant exhibition. That is where today’s Blipfotos are taken.

The social distancing and hand sanitizer arrangements worked well and we really enjoyed the exhibition a lot.

The extra shows Mary’s tartan outfit.

Looking around it soon became apparent that the number of male visitors could be counted on the fingers of one hand with two fingers left over to include the V&A exhibition staff.

There is an interesting part where members of the public had contributed photos taken showing themselves wearing their Mary Quant apparel. Most came from the local area and my memory must be better than I thought for I easily recognised a couple of the girls who I remembered from Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art

This exhibition recalled a Britain in much more confident times and I am really pleased that I decided to go.

Great photography opportunities as it turned out I took 39.

Mary Quant also produced a dress up doll called Daisy who was far more stylish than a certain Barbie Doll.9

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.