Home & Away

By HeidiAndDolly

Angel Of The North

I very much enjoyed my visit with my friend Anne last evening and this morning. I stayed through breakfast and long enough to join in with my church’s Zoom chat which we are still doing even though some people have been able to attend the services in limited numbers. Having these Zoom gatherings is also wonderful for people who are travelling but would still like to join in!

Anne lives right by ‘The Angel of the North’ which sits high above the A1 at Gateshead. So after filling up with petrol I made that my first stop before heading south. I’ve seen it before but it’s always worth having a quick little walk there and taking a few pictures. For those unfamiliar with the sculpture - you can see how big it is by comparing it with the people walking around it.

Installed in 1998 amongst considerable controversy, it is seen by more than one person every second. It’s 54 metre (175 foot) wingspan is wider than a Boeing 757 or 767 and almost as long as a 747 Jumbo. It’s 20 metres (65 feet) high, the same as a 5-storey building or 4 double decker buses. It can withstand winds of 160km (100 miles) per hour.

Once I had paid my respects I headed south. I was very tired today and I knew I might not drive all the way home today. Even though campsites have been almost impossible to book, I did know of a couple that had availability tonight not far from the M1 motorway. So after driving about 3 hours I booked one of them just south of the Peak District and made my way there. I chose this one because it was supposed to have beautiful views over a valley, and I wasn’t disappointed! See Extra photo.

The site was almost full so they allocated me what they said was actually one of the best pitches and it was! Look at that view! Not only that, but just a few steps below my pitch was a small picnic area. So once I got settled I made up my salad dinner and took my tray down to one of the picnic tables and enjoyed the view of the sunset while I ate. How blessed am I? If they weren’t full tomorrow I would have asked to extend my stay!

After the cold and wind in Yorkshire last week it was a lot warmer today so even after the sun went down I was able to enjoy sitting outside until an early bedtime. Perfect camping evening!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.