Morning View

What a view to wake up to! This was taken as I had a stroll around the campsite at about 730am. See Extra photo for my view just 45 minutes later as I had breakfast in the little picnic spot just below my pitch. This view is over the Derwent Valley in Derbyshire, just south-east of the Peak District National Park.

It was a beautiful warm morning and I couldn’t pull myself away once I was all organised enough to leave. So I decided to stay a bit longer and enjoyed elevenses - coffee and a giant crumpet - in the sunshine. It sure felt good after the much cooler temperatures last week in Yorkshire.

Because I can’t resist exploring, I drove to the nearby Derbyshire town of Belper after I left the campsite. I enjoyed a short stroll around the town before leaving for my almost 3 hour drive home. I’m sure I’ll be back here - Belper was a mill town and there are some interesting historical sites to see nearby - the Derwent Valley Mills UNESCO World Heritage Site.

It was good to be home. It wasn’t quite the big trip to Scotland that I had hoped for, but 6 nights away with some wonderful days in Yorkshire, as well as an unexpected visit with a friend - I have a lot to be thankful for and some wonderful memories to cherish.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.