Stuff and Nonsense

By Diane2104

Dunlin #74

After a tip off from a birder on Wednesday we went to the King’s Gap at Hoylake for the high tide. It was a lovely sunny day and there were plenty of birds about with hundreds of gulls bobbing up and down in the sea and plenty of waders at the waters edge. 
Unfortunately, there were also lots of people on the beach and a lot of them had dogs who kept disturbing the flocks of birds, but they kept coming back. We had a lovely 90 minutes either side of high tide. 
I think most of them were oystercatchers(extras) and the smaller ones were mostly Dunlin with a few Ringed Plovers thrown in. 
In my main blip I think that they are all Dunlin, but there is a small chance that the pale bird in the middle could be a Sanderling, but I’m not sure. My wader ID skills need a lot of improving. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.