MONO MONDAY - OLD AND NEW

Sometimes a Blip just “falls into your lap” and you have to go with it instead of thinking too much!  Today was one of those days.  We were due a Waitrose delivery between 8 and 9 a.m. so I had to make sure I was up in plenty of time - well, I couldn’t let Mr. HCB do all the work of putting things away, could I?

I got a text just after 8.30 to say that my groceries would be with me in about 15 minutes and sure enough, they were.  The text told me that it would be Daniel delivering them - he is a very personable young man and has delivered to us several times before.  

However, when the van pulled up outside our house, it was obvious that there were two people in there.  When Daniel got out from the driver’s side, he raised his hand and asked how we were.  Then another person got out of the passenger side and I shouted that they didn’t usually send two to deliver our groceries and laughed, whereupon Daniel said he was training someone.  The second person was Steve and he said he was learning from Daniel.  I immediately thought of the Blip theme for today, which was “Old and New” and bingo, the shot was taken.  I explained to Steve about Blip and both he and Daniel were happy to pose for a shot.  

As you can imagine there was quite a lot of banter going on, particularly as it was a chilly and misty morning and Steve was wearing shorts!  Made me feel quite cold.  Anyway, here are Daniel and Steve - a great “doubt act” - and I’m sure that Steve will be great when he “goes it alone”.  I did tell them that I would be emailing Waitrose to let them know how delighted I was with their service and how good they both were - and I got a huge smile from both Daniel and Steve.  Once they had gone, all the groceries were put away and I was sitting having a cup of coffee just after 9 a.m.  

Meanwhile, Mr. HCB is back out in the green gym trying to remove a huge slab of concrete at the far end of the garden - he thinks that the builders probably just dumped it, because it’s an irregular shape and there was never a wall there - ah well, he did say he likes doing manual work!

Hope everyone has a good day - I am going out soon to buy some Danish oil for the kitchen table that I sanded last week and also to buy some wood preservative for the new railway sleepers we had put in a few weeks ago - I would also like to paint the fence while the weather is still good - so onwards and upwards - but at least my Blip is done nice and early!

“Don't be afraid to give your best 
     to what seemingly are small jobs. 
Every time you conquer one 
     it makes you that much stronger. 
If you do the little jobs well, 
     the big ones will tend to take care of themselves.”
William Patten

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.