Because this is who I am

By Brighde

Lockdown Learnings

I can’t say I learnt many things in lockdown but I did have time to reflect on a lot of things. Firstly I’ll start my saying, I’m extremely fortunate to not be vulnerable or have older relatives or any relatives for that matter to live near me. So not seeing my family was awful but not as terrible as I would of thought because I only see my mum once every couple of months anyways.

So obviously I started this whole thing like everyone else, a bit pleased to be off work and being paid. I got to sit in my pyjamas on my sofa all day everyday and online shop. It’s sort of what a lady of leisure would do and I’m all up for that lifestyle. So that’s number one off the list of things I learnt, I like being at home. It was like I was 14 again and I was trying out eyeliner in my bedroom whilst watching compilations of Johnny Depp videos. Specifically the one where he says ‘I’ll come round some time and get that squeak out your door’ in chocolat.

Number two of course, is how many series I watched. All these Netflix’s documentaries and series I had half watched over the course of years and years, I finally finished! Orange is the new black, kimmy Schmidt, modern family! It was honestly weeks of entertainment. As well as catching up on some of my absolute favourite British comedies like diner ladies and vicar of dibley, basically 10/10 humour.

Third and finally, I learnt that I really could drink everyday if I wanted too. Seems obvious but you really get used to living a certain lifestyle. Because I was on furlough, and after all the shopping, I was a bit skint so my mum would do online shopping for me but of course instead of food- it was wine. So every couple of weeks I’d get 4 bottles of wine to my door, which let me tell you was an absolute delight. I did try and get fit and walk lots but it’s much easier to open a bottle of wine than it is getting a sports bra over your head.

I suppose I’m feeling reflective because Bojo is threatening to second lockdown us. But knowing what I know now, I feel like I just need to get the wine in and the telly on. Sort of lie back and think of England vibes.

Happy blipping.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.