L

The second day of my participation in the PhD workshop began at 08:00 with a Q&A on the "Solver" talks, one of which was about ours. There were a few members of the panel, but I still had a couple of questions to  answer. Then I had an hour to walk Django before the start of the window I'd booked for the "smart meters" to be installed. It was tight, so I was running as I met friedaquilter and her husband for the first time since March, so didn't get the chance to chat (sorry!). Of course, running back for such a time window guarantees that the fitter won't arrive at the start, but that's life! Although it was dull, I had time to snap an attractive collection of fungi [see extra].

After a day spent firefighting at work and preparing to go in tomorrow - for the first time since March - for a (literal) orientation event for some of our new MSc students in our teaching building, K returned from London. Since it was a nice evening, I decided that I'd let her have a first chance to drive the car! She was so excited! I drove out on the straight, quiet "Moor Road", turned and pulled in. The hills are familiar, but it's a different view of them. Unfortunately I'd not straightened the wheels, and we were almost on the opposite verge before we'd straightened the wheel between us, and then almost onto the nearside verge after over-correcting! Then things calmed down, and she trundled along calmly in second. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.