Farm animals

Don’t worry. This Pony is alive. As I got my camera out it opened its eye. But when it saw I was a Blipper it went back to sleep again.

I have always felt slightly apprehensive about encounters with farm animals. Mrs. K. on the other hand marches through the middle of a field of cows with a display of self confidence which sends a clear message of “Don’t mess with me”. They get the message. Somehow they know if you are nervous. I follow close behind her comforted by knowing that I have my walking poles in case of trouble and knowing that if she was not there I might be creeping round the edge of the field.

As a child I was bitten by a dog. As a teenager I had a confrontation with an angry Ram on a Lake District fell.
But the serious event occurred in Norway. We had climbed up through a field of peaceful cows and into a wood. Shortly thereafter thunder and lightening broke out. So we hastily went back down through the field. The peaceful cows were now terrified and thought we were to blame for these natural threats. So they all set off at high speed after us.
It was lucky that the hillside had many hay drying wire fences and we were able to weave in and out faster than our persuers.

At the bottom we leapt over a six foot stone wall and ten seconds later the leading cow hit it with a great thump.

Happy times.

Extra. I think this may be Autumn Hawkbit. But I should have looked at leaves and sepals etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.