Elasticated Waist Bands are de Rigeur

When I used to visit my aunt in her care home on special days like Christmas, I used to marvel at the amount of food the old people could put away. I marvel no more as I seem set to become one of the elderly with elasticated waist bands to allow for post prandial expansion.

You could be forgiven for thinking that my meal with the Merry Widows last night might have sufficed for a few days, but you would not have known that I was obliged to do a service for one of them today by standing in for an indisposed friend of hers at a Groupon lunch offer in Morningside- Prosecco, bruschetta and breast of chicken in a sauce of tomatoes and olives accompanied by vegetables. I put it all away without the need of a doggy bag. It’s rather horrifying , but my goodness it was delicious.

However on the positive front for calorie distribution, my walking mileage of 9.39 miles this morning was enough for me to complete the challenge of 200 miles since the beginning of the month that I set myself to raise money for Maggies. The original challenge of 100K seemed rather paltry unless it was done all at once, so I decided to do more, but spread it over 3 weeks. Done and dusted, as they say. And a huge thank you to those of you who sponsored me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.