Tiny Tuesday ....

... Cheddar in mono.

Well, almost. 

Cheddar has the most incredible amber eyes I just couldn't bring myself to totally convert to black & white.

I worked on some much put off computer things this morning and then sat out on the deck for a while after lunch.  It was a gorgeous day ... plenty of sunshine and warm temps.  It wasn't until later in the afternoon that I went out with the macro lens.  

Cheddar was in the sunroom so I got in his face to see if I could get a good shot of him.  I was surprised that I got at least one good picture of him as he wasn't sitting still for long.  

We released our final Monarch butterfly this morning ... another female.  She had emerged late in the day yesterday and with the temperatures dropping into the low 30's last night we didn't want to release her then. She is a tiny thing and we were worried that she would freeze.  So that concludes this year's Monarch nursery.  I'm not going to say it was disappointing because any time you can save monarchs it's a good year. But it was just so different and sad at times.  I think we had more failures this year than in year's past and only released nine butterflies.  

But the good news is we have a whole lot of Black Swallowtail caterpillars still munching away on the parsley and five chrysalids so far. We hope to overwinter these chrysalids plus any others that pupate in the next week or so.  Maybe we will be more successful with these ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.