About to turn

By jMcLean

Dark Screen

Oh dear, there's a new installment in the Simon Serrailler series by Susan Hill. That's why the laptop's dark. Here's a shot of my happily cluttered workspace - at least one of them. I'm often at a table in the kitchen, but sometimes like to retreat to the back room to get away from the distractions of WiFi. 

W. made it fine to Tennessee, after a long drive through the hollers of West Virginia (he called from Grundy) and a scenic route through Kentucky (he called from Glascow). He reports that his dad is breathing better than in July. My mom meanwhile had some surgery yesterday, so I've been on the phone with her a few times today. I've been back and forth thinking about flying out or driving out (would take 4 to 5 days on my own)...no great options right now, especially considering her vulnerability. 

A highlight: I got to witness a neighbor's mail-in ballot vote.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.