Kendall is here

By kendallishere

Modified Baba Day Resumes

Before Covid, I had one day a week with Evan, one with Bella. We called them Baba Days. I have a toy box at my apartment and a bookcase full of their special books. I would often take them to a playground, a museum, or we'd go on some adventure

Covid put an end to that. They haven't been to my place since March, and all the playgrounds and museums are closed. The only adventures we can safely pursue are in their back yard. The new Baba Day is a few hours instead of a day, visiting their house, having time with one of the two children in their back yard while the sibling stays inside. I'm not sure how we'll work it out when winter comes, but today I took two of Evan's favorite books and his favorite game from my house, Obstacles. The game features panoramic pictures of a road with an obstacle in it (a wind storm, a flock of sheep, a stream of boiling lava, a brick wall, etc.). Each player gets eight "tool" cards and has to explain how to use one or more tools to overcome the obstacle. I see how much Evan has grown in the past six or seven months. He was much faster at finding solutions than he'd been the last time we played, despite the fact that he'd had dental work done in the morning and was a little vague and tired.

Tomorrow we'll have Bella's Baba Day. It felt wonderful to have time alone with one child and not be on a screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.