Laying in supplies

Thank you for rejoicing with me that the air cleared for a couple of days and we could celebrate Seth's birthday outside.

Now the smoke is moving back in. The Air Quality was up to 152 (the higher it is, the worse it is) at one point today, however it has fallen a little lower, but who knows what will happen tomorrow? The fires are still burning.  

So this time, those of us who can afford to buy a little extra are laying in supplies, in case it becomes hazardous to go out for groceries in the next day or two. The whole scene, so familiar to us now: masks, 6 feet apart, a monitor at the door letting in one person for each one who leaves the store...would have been inconceivable seven months ago. Now we are comforted by it. The door monitor had a little music system playing beside him: the "Casta Diva" aria from Norma. I didn't want to go in when my turn came. I think it was probably Renée Fleming. I love Portland.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.