Dribs and Drabs of 2014

By RodgerEvans01

Shell Game

Science, Biology to be more specific - studying it as a profession, and getting to use its tools are what usually gets me up and kicking every morning. I'm not a marine biologist, but I know something cool when I see it!!!

Once again I brought home a bag of shells to play with. When I lit this sand dollar I knew I had something fun, and ultimately blip-able. I had also made up some histological stain "gels" in 50mL Falcon tubes to try out on my flashes.

The left most is straight light, the green is malachite green dissolved in water, and the orange is Eosin-Y dissolved in water. I love, love, love, how the sand dollar "star", or maybe it's a "flower", lights up from behind. This is definitely near the top for the pattern project...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.