The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Drummer Boy

I left the office much later than I had planned tonight and sulked all the way down the elevator. I thought to myself that all I had ahead of me was the mindless commute home. I can easily find self-pity on the days that never seem to end. But once I stepped out of the doors of our office building this evening, I heard the familiar beat of Drummer Boy, a street artist whom has filled my life and my ears on many spring and summer days with great joy over the last three years. And with his sound in the air tonight, I knew that spring is near.

Drummer Boy has become a fixture on my One Street, Nicollet Avenue. I really cannot say enough about his talents, nor about his ways. With the amount of time that he spins his sticks like a juggler in the air, it is a wonder that they ever hit his plastic bucket. But they do such often and with great rhythmic precision as he transforms a five-gallon pail into a fine musical instrument. At times, one or more percussionists join him and then the magic becomes exponential. But, while his partners come and go on any given day, I always know that Drummer Boy will be there on many spring and summer days to fill our streets with his enormous artistic talent.

I have spoken to him often. While I know his name, he prefers to be known in the streets as Drummer Boy. He moved to Minneapolis from Chicago four years ago with his sister. He is a professional musician and, in addition to performing on the streets, he also plays in the clubs with several bands. And on top of all this musical talent and his passion for entertaining others, he is a consummate gentleman with a smile that creates traffic jams.

I am not sure he will ever know how greatly appreciated his talents have become on One Street. Yes, his donation bucket becomes quite full by the end of his day. However, I think many of us are leaving just a fraction of the worth we are taking away.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.