Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Look at me!

Imagine my delight when I looked out the window this morning and spotted a hummingbird whizzing past.  It's been a week since I last saw one in our yard as they've all started heading south by now.  I always leave at least one feeder up until November, even though the latest I've ever had a hummer was the end of September - but you never know.  Anyway, this little guy is traveling solo and he spent the entire day in the garden, refueling.    At one point, he went after a juvenile Goldfinch who apparently got on his nerves.  He hovered right in front of the goldfinch, moving back and forth in his most aggressive fashion until the goldfinch fled in fright.  Then, to my complete surprise, he landed on the see feeder and proceeded to probe it with his tongue.  Finding nothing to his liking, he left and headed to some flowers.  But I'll put the shot of him on the feeder in Extra - those of you who have hummers in your yard will get a good laugh out of it.  (And if you didn't know, hummingbirds only eat insects and nectar).  

This afternoon I took the kayak out and had the most enjoyable afternoon.  I did some paddling which was nice, and then I did some stalking which was even better.  I happened to see a little Green Heron land on a snag in the water so I ever so slowly approached in the kayak.  I spent about an hour with him, snapping way too many shots.  Then, I laid eyes on a grebe so I whiled away another ridiculous amount of time with him, too.  It was warm and pleasant on the water and I really enjoyed just drifting along, camera in hand.  

I came home from my paddle with several hundred photos to go through - it's been awhile since I've done that.  A day with several hundred photos, however, is an excellent day.  Which I needed after reading that the man who occupies the White House won't agree to a peaceful transition in the event that he is beaten in the election   Frankly, his tone terrifies me as it smacks of a dictatorship.  I find this kind of behavior shocking in a country that has always been a democracy.  

Stay safe.  Be kind, be loving, be patient.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.