Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Winding down...

Every day that there is still a hummingbird in the garden right now is a gift.  And today there were two.  Possibly the same two that were here yesterday, although I can't tell for certain.  What I do know is that they'll soon be gone.  Usually I record my last hummer of the season during the last few days of September.  In fact, I'm not sure I've ever had one into October even though I leave one feeder up until November.  I like this image because it kind of looks like he's conducting an orchestra.  Notice how his wings are moving in a circular rotation from the "shoulder"?

I woke up this morning feeling perfectly fine.  In fact, even my hands aren't hurting today.  So, based on that, you'd think I would have more to show for the day than an assortment of photos, some light housework and a long chat with bestie, Peg.  All in all, a good day even if I don't have much to show for it.  

I released a monarch today, too - she joined five others who were feeding in the garden.  I expect they will take off tomorrow once the temps warm up.  And I am keeping an eye on a big, fat caterpillar who somehow managed to avoid my prying eyes until he hung himself from a gladiola leaf yesterday.  I don't put the odds that he hasn't been parasitized very high, but I'll keep watch just the same.  

Dark with ginger again today - it's really a wonderful combo.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.