Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

#41, Redux

I posted an American Redstart in Extra several weeks ago as my 41st yard bird of the year.  I was hoping that I'd get a chance for a better shot, one that I could feature as my main blip --- and today was the day.  There were two of these dainty little warblers flitting around the cherry tree and the shadbush for the better part of 5 minutes before they disappeared.  I suspect that this is a hatch-year male although it could be a bright female.   Either way, it posed very nicely for me on top of our cherry tree, right at eye level from the deck.  

When I went to put the feeders out, there was a flock of a half dozen chickadees who came swooping in even before I'd gotten away from the feeder.  They were very vocal and very cute.  And they were probably what attracted the redstarts to the yard.  Also in the garden today were two hummingbirds, both youngsters and both looking very healthy.  

I am happy to report that I feel totally better today.  Still some achy muscles this morning but nothing a couple of Tylenol couldn't take care of.  So, basically, the booster jab had about the same side effects for me as the second dose back in January.  Same for Hubs - he felt mostly okay with some fatigue late in the day.  

I spent much of the morning outside but now the rain has started so I'm in for the rest of the afternoon.  It's so dark and broody outside right now with a few rumbles of thunder in the distance - definitely a good time to be indoors.

Dark with ginger today...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.