Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Swivel

This is the same little male hummingbird I blipped yesterday - he and his buddy are apparently staying for a few days to get ready for the next leg of the journey.  I have two feeders out and this one has been guarding one feeder all day - from everyone.  A titmouse (who would never be caught dead drinking sugar water) ventured too close and was vigorously chased into the woods.  Never mind that the titmouse is about 10 times bigger than the hummer.  Anyhooo, this particular shot captures one of the hummingbird's signature moves - the swivel.  It's common when they are perched for them to continuously swivel their heads in all directions, keeping an eye out for competitors or whatever.  

I have successfully survived both scans although neither was what I'd call enjoyable in any respect.  When I got to the hospital, the lot was almost full so I had to drive around a bit to find a spot.  Then when I went to register, there were about 8 people ahead of me.  All of which meant I was 5 minutes late to radiology.  Then had to wait almost another 15 minutes - all the time with 32 ounces of water in my 66-year old bladder.  And the scan, of course, involved pushing down on aforementioned bladder with a lot of gusto.  Anyway, it's done and the radiologist was really very nice.  And I get to do it all again in 3 months.  Yay, me.

I released Monarch #99 today, a male.  I put the enclosure in the garage last night because the overnight temps outside were going to be in the low 40's.  And today was very cold and windy so I waited until it had warmed up into the 60's to let him go.  He'll find a spot to roost up in the trees and hopefully get on the move tomorrow.  I think I have 7 more to go, maybe 8.  

I think I may look for something dark and salty today.  

Virtual cocktails with two of my besties tonight which will be fun.  The third is currently doing a walking tour of the backroads in France and Spain - and having a fab time from the looks of things.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.