Dykedale Wood

We were supposed to be meeting friends for a walk at Linlithgow today. Unfortunately one of the couple had a dental emergency so had to cancel. Luckily she managed to get an appointment so I hope she's all patched up.

We decided to walk to a small reservoir up above Dunblane. As we set off along the path Flora disturbed about 20 pheasants. Then we saw a sign asking people not to walk or cycle there between 1st June and 28th February to allow the baby pheasants to mature. Presumably so that they can then be pursued as game birds. I could have worked myself into a rage but honestly what's the point. The 'countryside' lobby holds far too much sway in my opinion.

Anyway we set off on the path across the road and round Dykedale Wood, as blipped. I'd forgotten my camera and was so annoyed with myself but I think my phone has done a reasonable job. We then dropped back into Dunblane and went for a coffee which was delightful and felt safe. Then a walk along the Allanwater to the Laigh Hills, a wee wander there and back to the car. I walked Flora back from Lidl while Cameraman shopped and now we're home. A grand day out, barring the annoyances.

Such beautiful autumn sunshine. It's quite chilly but that can be sorted with a scarf and gloves. I will definitely be out again this afternoon either gardening or walking, or both.

The covid related news is ever more alarming. I wish you all a happy and safe weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.