Buscot Gardens

We headed off for a new to us visit. I believe Buscot Park has been given to the National Trust but then leased back by the original family, so it's semi-private but free to NT Members. I heard of it from a member of my photography group, who had visited it earlier in the year.

Apparently the house is worth a visit too, but of course it's closed right now. The gardens are lovely, mostly parkland but with water features all over, including a couple of very decent lakes with accompanying follies. Everywhere you turn there is a new sculpture to admire... and I was quite taken with the pool too.

The Terracotta Army replicas are fun. There are five ranks of soldier; from front to back I think they're Loyal then Confidential Officers, behind them are Smiling Heavy Infantrymen, and Dignified Colonels, with an Archer at the rear. They are exact replicas of the LingTong Army.

A fine visit and one that we'll do again.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.