SpotsOfTime

By SpotsOfTime

Burnham Deepdale

This was my second soaking of the day (and I didn’t even go swimming). My first was when I went up to Phil’s to get some fish (extra). Cleaned rooms upstairs and found more in cupboards that I was sure had been already been cleared. It ain’t over ‘till it’s over ... etc.
The gales and the rain have been something else. There’s just been a short power-cut and when I was out taking the main blip at ‘sunset’ there was the most almighty crack overhead as a branch came down as I walked along The Drove.
I’ve arrived at a bit of a weary, exhausted, fuck-it stage today and so treated myself to some of Phil’s salmon mousse and drank wine at lunchtime. That made the afternoon’s sorting interesting.

Thank you all so much for your kindness on my blip birthday yesterday. What a great corner of the world this place is.

[postscript later on - just like mum used to I tend to get a second wind just as I should be heading up to bed - fridge and freezer cleaned and cupboard under the sink done. With the power cut. the locks to the doors faltering, the rotten windows rattling, and, as I try to settle with the hoolie outside continuing to hool I’ve had Ted Hughes’s line echoing in my head ... ‘This house has been far out at sea all night’ and as disorder both in the house and my worn out body increase, the notion of entropy creeps in and takes hold.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.