Bye, bye house

This one came to visit today with her mum (who wanted to see the house one last time) and grandmother, my niece and my sister ... https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2575458004396674158
She’ll never remember it but she will be the last and faintest link. Her mum spent a lot of her time here with mum and dad ... long summers when she came over from Italy.

I’ve got the little one started on beer and chips at the White Horse, so not an entirely lost cause. Who knows when we’ll meet up again as they head back to Switzerland.

After that little whirlwind has passed through I'm back to the usual. I went for a quick look at the marsh and saw the huge branch that I’d heard crack overhead last night.

Feeling thoroughly traumatised now. I’ve started to wonder if there’s any precedent for anyone supergluing themselves to a house. Sorry mum and dad ... and no offence like, but the house seems so much tougher than you two. Somehow houses and places can seem to hold everything ... and, of course, the absolute finality of packing everything up, however many years on.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.