Strawhouse

By strawhouse

New Walk

Despite the crappy forecast my mum and I decided to take the dogs for a walk this afternoon. I wanted to show her the new walk I discovered the other day over towards Silverstone. It’s got everything - woods, meadows, fields, a stretch of Roman road, rolling countryside. Perfect!
We carried on further than Mr K and I did the other day and it was like being out on the Downs, the rolling countryside just opened up in front of us. We loved it.
Elsie and Archie loved it too!
I picked up a piece of pottery from a newly ploughed field next to the Roman road. It may just be part of a lowly Victorian (or 1980s) roof tile but I prefer to think of it as a precious Roman artefact!!
At the furthest point of our walk, down a hill almost at Silverstone, it started raining. Not too heavy though, that was saved until we reached the woods again. And thank god for that as it was an absolute monsoon and we’d have been soaked to the skin if we hadn’t been under the trees!
Another fabulous walk. I’m so happy to be into it again.
268 miles to go.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.