Justenj0y

By Justenj0y

Food labelling

Funny how an innocent shopping trip can turn into a one woman crusade. I scanned this lovely box of 'seedless easy peelers' into my shopping trolley in readiness for the visit from the Little People this weekend. I don't know what prompted me to check whether they were satsumas, clementines, tangerines or even mandarines but I turned the box every which way only to find there was no definition to be found. For my own interest I decided to check with the girl on the information desk who told me that she didn't have her glasses so she couldn't see! (I think it was at this point the red mist decended!) So I asked her colleague, clearly a manager and very busy avoiding my gaze if he could help and could he identify the type of fruit these were.
'They are seedless easy peelers, madam' (red mist is getting worse!)
'Yes I am aware of what they do, I want to know what they are'
'It will say on the shelf where they were stacked' he replied and walked over to the shelf and smartly removed the label which confirmed they were seedless easy peelers and showed me the label.
'So you are really telling me that these are a new type of fruit? In addition to mandarines, clemantines, satsumas and tangerines we have a new line called Seedless Easy Peelers?' At this point, I could see the light bulb going on over his head!
This last week has been overshadowed by a huge scandal that has been uncovered about food labelling and in particular beef products. Millions of £s will be lost in the short term, more money will be spent on enquiries and yet when you innocently point something out they continue to act in the same old way.
Rant over!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.