Its the Way It Is

By Jeano

Starry Starry Night

Art Project to recreate a well known and much loved masterpiece. Students may use anything from around their homes or garden. Items used should make the original artist chuckle. Please include list of items in your application.

This is the brief given to us by our wonderfully, delightfully eccentric art teacher. She has 4 students ... Spanish lady, french guy and London man and me (these names are chosen by us). My fellow students are great and I have invites from them to visit their native places when this damn virus blows over.

So clearly (i hope) to the viewer is Vincent van Gogh’s starry starry night. I love his work and I know I would have liked him. He was a very sensitive person who could not endure the daily obstacles and hardships that life throws in our way. He had a gentle nature.

So Vincent, here is the inventory of items used

Bluey velvety skirt for background (which was in the Oxfam bag but taken out again on the grounds that it’s very cute)

Leaves from garden, also yellow daisies and very last yellow rose (used for the sun)

Mardi Gras mask. To show glitz of local town

Blue necklace

Herbs from garden ... rosemary and sage

Netty bag fromLidl garlic

and my coo de gra

The white swirly things cut from my floor mop

And Vincent this last item will make you chuckle - cos I hate housework and the floor mop is severely under-used in this house so I got a sissors and cut it to bits and it has served a higher purpose

Clearly blippers this is a WIP

homework to be submitted next Tuesday

I hope you like my efforts and extra shows what I am working from. If you like his work, can I seriously recommend

‘A Life in Letters and Art’ by Ormoston

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.