33 and 1/3 rpm

I occasionally make mistakes when ordering online. And so it proved this week.

Our favourite lockdown plus album has been the quirky Finnish jazz pianist iiro rantala’s “Finnish calendar”. We’ve played the CD a lot.

So I ordered his previous album, “Good Stuff”, which is a joint effort with the guitarist ulf wakenius. Except - what arrived was the vinyl version. That has meant I have had to get the record deck out of the cupboard, and remind myself how to connect everything together so it works.

I haven’t played vinyl for a long time. The sound is very different to a CD or streamed music - it is good stuff. And there is something about holding an LP cover and reading the sleeve notes. That’s the cover in the background.

I had been thinking it would be good to listen to some of my LP’s, many if not most of them evoke memories. I think we may have a few vinyl evenings over coming months.

NB After no sightings all day, two martins returned to the nest at 6-15 pm. The two youngsters, getting their bearings in the wide world before heading south ?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.