Spoor of the Bookworm

By Bookworm1962

One Billion Rising!

An Apology to 51% of the Human Race

Last night as I was getting ready for bed I experienced one of the "sudden drops" that punctuate the more usual slow decline of my spinal problems. As I was straightening up there was a sudden sharp blow to my lower back that engulfed my back, pelvis and right leg in eyesight dimming, breath stopping pain. It would appear that one of the few discs left in my lumbar spine has given up the struggle and had a major prolapse. I am therefore spending today wedged into the most relieving position I can find on the sofa and with roughly twice my usual blood content of morphine. Forgive me for the level of detail - this isn't a cry for help or sympathy, I've been dealing with this crap for a long time and I will deal with this (as I'm led to believe our colonial cousins say "This isn't my first rodeo") - but I wanted to make it clear that it took a lot to make me miss the V Day "Rising" in Oxford today.

I hope Look, See, Click, Kendall and all the other Blippers taking part have had a triumphant day.

I've been watching the events from around the world live on the Internet and trying to follow Look, See, Click's advice on hand jiving albeit with one hand as the other is rather trapped under me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.