littlemissquirk

By littlemissquirk

Outside!

After what seems an eternity since the 16th, I was finally outside for longer than it takes to go from surgery to taxi, taxi to hotel, hotel to airport, airport to taxi, taxi to sofa... etc etc etc
So today impulse took over. Autumn sunshine let’s get out. Had some delicious carrot cake on the banks of the Tay catching some rays.... oooh it was lovely.
Phonecall from a sheepish doc from the Royal Infirmary to say that a certain unsavoury sample results revealed I had caught C. Diff whilst in hospital, I suspect from the filthy private room I was in. The care throughout had been shocking but not as derelict as the absence of hygiene. Bearing in mind I was only 6 days past major surgery I realised how lucky I was to walk out of there losing only two days of my life. It could have been a lot worse. Had I been older, less confident to speak up, less clued up on what care I required ie fluids and nutrients none of which were being volunteered, I do not know what would have happened.
Wording my letter of feedback as we speak, to come out less well than I went into hospital is surely shocking in this day and age and what a worry as we only get older, more dependent whilst the NHS gets more stretched, less funded and staff more despondent.
Rant over, back to my cake.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.