Teach Them Young

So there I was, standing in the queue to get into Gails Bakers (£3.90 for a loaf. I kid you not). I was musing on how Wanstead is becoming the new hipster (see extra) upmarket area with a fish shop, Ginger Pig butchers and the aforementioned Gails. I then noticed  that over the road is the authentic pie and mash shop, which I have previously Blipped. 

I saw that outside there was a dad lovingly feeding his child some pie, mash and liquor. I wonder if he will obliged me, I thought. So after I had taken out a mortgage and bought the loaf and a couple of cakes I crossed the road and asked the gent. 

He was happy for me to take a picture and I explained that I remember my father giving me a bowl of cockles with vinegar and pepper in Watford market when I was a kid and that his son would remember the thrill of having lunch with his dad.

We discussed the merits of different pie and mash shops and this one seems to be a must place to return to and give the traditional dish another try. So thanks, Robin, for the picture and hope to see you again at Robins some time. Hang on, is he the owner?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.