Ivy Flowers

Sorry for two hedgerow blips in a row. Not as colourful today though. There are loads of these flowers around in the hedgerows at the moment - although I must admit that before today I hadn’t noticed these with the anthers protruding like this.

Apparently they are one of the most important sources of nectar for insects in autumn in the UK.

I also found out that the flowers only appear on mature plants which have oval shaped leaves. The well known pointed ivy leaves are from immature plants.

Another day of not doing much - struggling to get motivated for walks, barely keeping up to 12K steps a day (average) which I need to do to complete my 2000 miles in 2020 challenge.

Beef roasting gently in the slow cooker - just need to prep veg and make Yorkshire puds for tea. May have to open a nice red later…

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.