Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Busy day in sunshine

Another spectacular autumn day. No wind. Becky came earlier than normal for Archie, because we were going to get our flu jab at a drive in centre. It was very well organised, with plenty of signs on the road. We were given a choice of dates (online), with set time slot for first letter of surnames. It wasn’t busy, and we drove round and were given our jabs without getting out of the car. The nurse person said they were mobbed yesterday, the first day.

I got dropped off in Bruntsfield, for I fancied picking up some croissants, and perchance to have a coffee and a sit in the sun. But apart from every seat having been taken and queues at the French bakery... I left my phone in the car, so no money (Apple Pay)!!! Not happy. 

But we sat out in the sun and had coffee and toast at home, JR listening to her book, while I was reading my brother’s whodunnit on my phone. 

When Archie was back home, we set off across the Meadows, JR to return boots (I’ve lost track) in town, with a coffee stop at our favourite cafe where we could sit outside in the sun.

Archie and I came back home, but stopped for ages to watch a vigorous game of Touch Rugby. I realised we were actually on their pitch when Archie picked up one of those wee plastic marker things and didn’t put it down in the right place. I wanted them to come running nearer us to get an action shot, but they seemed to be passing to players on the other side.

Actually, the whole Meadows was full of organised games and fitness clubs - I love to see it used like that, not just big groups of drinkers with boom boxes, burning the grass with their cheap barbecues and leaving their litter.

On the way home I spotted strawberries in the shop. Two young chaps were standing at the corner, so I asked if they would be there for a few minutes, and, after introducing him, handed them Archie’s lead and asked that they look after him. They were chuckling when I came out, comparing Archie’s beard to one of the chap’s beard. I left the strawberries at my wee pal Mary’s door and texted her. She’s had a huge operation and is recuperating slowly. 

Elizabeth sent a photo of her new bike in Queen’s Park! Perfect day for it, and the park is car free at weekends.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.