Sad

The usual first day back at work after a holiday. Actually, I suppose it was worse than that.

A colleague was absent due to illness the week before I was away. She has not come back yet. Another one has now disappeared on “long term” sickness absence. On the plus side, the Boss has recruited someone to work 2 days in the week, and she has worked with us before, so that will help. 

Ironically one of the emails waiting for me was the requirement to complete a Covid 19 health risk assessment for HR. I am high risk, but I knew that. Your score starts with your age and then adds points for factors like hypertension or diabetes. I can get over the 70 point threshold for high risk without even getting out of bed. Age is such a wonderful thing.

Oddly enough, some good news came out of it. My BMI always rates me as obese. It was the case even 20-30 years ago when I was 99% muscle and bone*. I always had a lot of muscle in my shoulders, hips and thighs. That made me heavy by reference to my height.

Today I discovered body fat ratio and hips to waistline ratio. I am low risk on the latter and in the very fit category for the former. Years of fretting and frustration for nothing…

On the wider horizon, it is sad to see Armenia and Azerbaijan fighting again. When I was climbing Mt Aragats this time last year, my Armenian guide spoke freely (without being asked) about the country’s relationships with Azerbaijan and Turkey. 

In fact his ability to talk and climb at 10,000 ft was impressive. I said little, and focussed on breathing.

At that time the new Armenian government was still very new, and making the right sounds about peace talks with Azerbaijan. He told me the young generation born since the war in 1988-94 mostly just want a negotiated solution to end the country’s relative isolation. He thought it could also help to bring a thaw in its relationship with Turkey. 

Guess they will be off to the front line instead.

* The brain is a muscle, before anyone makes any smart comments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.