Rodents rule

By squirk

Attention seeker

Home alone with the cat day 5. The cat is Boss. When I have a snack, he demands a snack. If I sit down, he has to sit on my lap. If I get up to walk around, he demands I shoogle him on any one of the rugs that I pass. Each rug, if possible. The cat is marvellous, but he's rubbish at making tea.

It's been a Monday or odds and sods. It's not so much book development at this time but sounding out contributors, raising contracts and setting out guidelines on how a project needs to be run. It's quite a nice time, a lull before the full pelt ahead. We're also finalising Frankfurt material, of which there is a great deal. The book fair is virtual, but this only means the digital offering needs to be impressive. I've not had to do a huge amount this time round, thank goodness, but I see the rest of my team in a whirl.

On other news, our CEO has reassured us that the office remains open for those who need it but no one has to return and they're going to review early next year. 

My concert for Mogwai in February has been cancelled. As Fred said, at least our ears have been saved. Mogwai at the Royal Festival Hall back in 2014 is still the loudest gig I've ever attended. It was also absolutely fantastic. I'm sad not to have them in my diary, but as with everything, we have to wait and see.

At lunch I delivered some newsletters for the Friends of West Norwood Cemetery. It was the perfect excuse to get out into the sunshine. The sun had gone by the time work had finished so I didn't go out for another walk. I was pleased to stay in and meet a lady who'd come to pick up the drinking fountain that Juno refuses to drink from. She has two cats and a dog so one of the animals is sure to benefit from it. Freecycling is a wonderful way to liberate unused items from the flat. I'm looking out for something else to give away now. Fred better return home soon or it'll all be gone (he wishes!)

I've spent the evening looking for some admin for our flat. Surely the freehold document is somewhere. Luckily, my upstairs neighbour came to the rescue (we have a joint share in the freehold). The reason for searching – we need to extend our leasehold, which the upstairs flat needs to do to be able to sell. I'd completely forgotten about these intricacies of buying and selling. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.