Mollyblobs

By mollyblobs

The golden pear

I was up at 4.30 a.m. to take Ben to work, before heading back to bed for a couple of hours more sleep. I must have turned over rather too quickly, and felt as though as I was falling. When I eventually got up I realised that my balance was off - putting my head at certain angles made me feel decidedly dizzy. As this was accompanied by a pain in my sinuses and forehead, I decided I probably had a mild inner ear infection.

Pete brought me breakfast in bed, accompanied buy a couple of paracetamol and by mid-morning I felt much better. Just as well, as after lunch we both went to visit a young couple who live in Old Weston, to give them some advice on how to maximise the biodiversity potential of their landholding, which included a small traditional orchard and a field. It was cool and blustery, but I felt much better being outside, and really enjoyed the afternoon - lovely to meet such an enthusiastic pair.

There wasn't much chance for photography (apart from record shots to accompany our report) but this golden pear was one of many on a huge, ancient pear tree. The fruit were quite small and hard, and though I don't know anything much about pear cultivars, I did wonder whether it might be a perry pear. I think the owner rather hoped that it might be!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.